Home Blog The areas of Learning and Development in Early years

The areas of Learning and Development in Early years

The learning and development requirements are introduced by the best available authentication on how children learn and improve the broad range of skills, knowledge and attitudes children need as a foundation for good future progress.

The areas of learning and development:

There are seven areas of learning and development. All areas of
learning and developments are important and inter-connected.

These three areas are the prime areas:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Social and emotional development

The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understand the surroundings
  • Art & Design

Share This Post

Post Navigation

Related Articles


Education should be fun and not forced. Play is the universal language of childhood. Children learn so much from play. Play way method is a way…


Supervisions are an important part of the EYFS, through effective supervision, early years educators and parents make improvement in early years all development area. Early years…